Home > CompTIA


The Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA), a non-profit trade association, was created in 1982 as the Association of Better Computer Dealers, Inc. (ABCD) by representatives of five microcomputer dealerships. CompTIA exams are world-recognized, vendor-neutral IT certification exams that grace the resumes of today's most qualified and skilled technology professionals. Since the program's inception, more than one million individuals have earned a CompTIA certification, paving the way for better job security, career advancement, and more respect in the workplace. CompTIA exams cover a multitude of disciplines, from network infrastructure and security to installation and troubleshooting. CompTIA has announced that only certificates received after January 1, 2011 will expire after 3 years. Certificates received after January 1, 2011 will need to be renewed every 3 years.

Levels of certification in CompTIA:

CompTIA has four certification series that test different knowledge standards, from entry-level to expert.

  • 1. Mastery
  • 2. Professional
  • 3. Specialty
  • 4. Basic

CompTIA Mastery Series

CompTIA mastery certifications cover the advanced practice of a specific discipline. Mastery certification candidates must be able to integrate multiple enterprise disciplines through the application of advanced skills. Mastery certifications can be taken as a standalone credential or as an advanced step in a specific certification career path.

CompTIA Professional Series

CompTIA professional certifications cover the technical skills and knowledge needed to succeed in a specific IT career.

CompTIA Specialty Series

CompTIA specialty certifications cover the business and technical knowledge needed for specific vertical or niche markets. Specialty certifications can be taken in combination with other CompTIA certifications or can be taken on their own by business and IT professionals.

CompTIA Basic Series

CompTIA basic certifications cover foundational topics and issues in IT and are suited for individuals looking to enter jobs that involve computers.

CompTIA Certification Types

CASPA+Cloud EssentialStrata IT Fundamentals
CTP+Healthcare IT
CTT+IT For Sales

Benefits of CompTIA certifications

Students who hold a CompTIA Certification prove their proficiency and CompTIA Certification can help provide:

  • ? recognition among peers and employers, and a distinct edge in the competitive job market
  • ? higher degree of success in their pursuit of higher education or a career in technology
  • ? a firm measure and increased confidence in skills
  • ? demonstration of skills on the latest technologies
  • ? a career development path for ongoing advancement of latest technology skills

Where to register for the exam?

CompTIA exams can be registered through Pearson VUE website. The CompTIA Strata IT Fundamentals exam is also offered at Certiport testing centers.

© 2014-15 Exam Achiever. All Rights reserved   Developed by Graphic InfoTech